Jeffree Star Cosmetics Velour Liquid Lipstick Review

Hey lovelies!

In the couple of months, it has been rather quiet around my blog and it seems I’ve fallen into the slumbering pits of- i don’t know what to write about. But I’ve also bought a large amount of new products, which are screaming to be reviewed. So first up are the much hyped Jeffree Star Cosmetics Velour Liquid Lipsticks. I’ve been a fan of Jeffree Star since 2010 in my very embarassing teenie scene phase. Seeing him becoming so successful and a makeup icon had a huge impact on me. I would even go as far as saying that he has greatly inspired me  when it comes to makeup and trying out new, more daring looks. As soon as I got wind of his makeup line, I knew I had to get my hands on some of the shades. My first lipsticks were: celebrity skin, blow pony and posh spice. Celebrity skin was and still is, one of my go to nude shades. ( My top 5 will come soon!)

A couple of weeks ago there was this major restock! And lucky me: i had enough money to treat myself. My heart was racing when I went on to the site and the nude lippies which I wanted to buy, where still available. ( Normally, in a matter of minutes, they are out of stock- for example like these goddamn delicious highlighters SkinFrost. Lemme cry forever.)

qzvs5a0fef8qs

Let’s get to the point: my latest Jeffree Star Cosmetics Haul ♥

13410383_1452815854735215_1446865270_o
From left to right: Gemini, Celebrity Skin and I’m nude.

 

I’m a big sucker for nude lipsticks and I love them even more, if they are longlasting!

13388777_1452816188068515_456422571_o
Gemini ♥

First off: I am super in love with Gemini. It is a perfect rusty brown red. A subtle yet unique lipstick which certainly gives the outfit the right touch. I was however worried, that gemini was the same as Kat von D-Lolita. At first glance, they do look eerily similar.

13324176_1452815674735233_1682980534_o(1)
Gemini and Lolita

Luckily, Gemini is a far more lighter tone than Lolita. Gemini has a higher percentage of red than Lolita, whereas Lolita is more brown. Both of them work well with fair skin tones with a slight pink undertone. As you can see: I am paler than a ghost…

13396844_1452815728068561_1146997955_o

 

My next shade is Celebrity Skin!

I’ve been digging this shade since forever and it is  my absolute favorite. Celebrity Skin is a neutral,  slightly brown nude lipstick, but doesn’t look muddy.

13405710_1452815948068539_1590612434_o

Now the last shade: I’m nude.

To be honest, I am not 100% convinced. It takes numerous layers to achieve a perfect lip, as it tends to turn out not as smooth as the others do. Plus if you aren’t careful it could end up looking kind of patchy.

13389056_1452816041401863_1917296711_o

First of I really do not think that this shade suits me at all. Maybe because I am too pale or have the wrong complexion for this nude, orangy shade. ( Or I’m just a scardeycat.) I personally think, if I go for a heavily bronzed look- I could maybe pull it off. like maybe… maaaybe one daaay.

All in all, I love love love Jeffree Star Cosmetics. Their products are absolutely awesome and high quality. Amazingly, they do not dry out my lips at all! ( Yes such a product exists. Bye bye dried out crusty matte lips.)The application is in most cases fairly easy and the lipstick glides on really well. Not all lipsticks actually give off a scent, Gemini however does. I was a little irritated with the peppermint slash liquorice fragrance, but it does grow on you.

In my opinion, Velour Liquid Lipsticks are a definite must have for any lipstick junkie, as myself. You will not regret it!

9 thoughts on “Jeffree Star Cosmetics Velour Liquid Lipstick Review

  1. Gemini looks gorgeous on you! I really want to get my hands on some of these lippies, and I’m not really too sure why I haven’t yet! Your review has just made me want them even more now! xxx

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I regularly check their instagram, they normally post the infos on there… good luck with doll parts! I waited forever to get my hands on my second dose of celebrity skin xx

        Like

Leave a comment